More On David Toms Pulling Out Of Zurich

courtesy: Shreveport Times

Former LSU golfer David Toms has pulled out of this week’s Zurich Classic in New Orleans. The Shreveporter has been plagued by a back injury this season.“Unfortunately I had to withdraw from the Zurich Classic today,” Toms said in a statement through his Shreveport-based foundation. “This tournament means so much to me and I hate that I will not be able to compete this year.” Toms has played in only five PGA Tour events this season, cashing a check in two. His best finish is a tie for 17th at the World Match Play event, where he also withdrew after defeating Zach Johnson in his first match Feb. 20.“I’m fighting a lower back injury that only gets slightly better each day,” Toms said. “It wouldn’t be fair to the great golf fans in New Orleans if I tried to tee it up and I wasn’t 100-percent healthy. I will be taking next week off as well and feel confident that I will be ready to play in The Masters.”The Masters begins April 10.Check Wednesday’s editions of The Times for more on this story.
One Response

  1. I am sorry to hear that David Toms has pulled out of the Zurich Classic. I hope and pray that his back feels better soon. He is such a hardworking, talented golf player.

Leave a Reply

