Tennis Star In Playboy Magazine!!!

courtesy: www.telegraph.co.uk

 

After losing to Serena Williams in the first round at Roland Garros, 23-year-old Ashley Harkleroad revealed all (but only to the world’s press). She announced that she would be appearing in the August edition of the famous glamour mag.

So why did she do it? Perhaps she was just fed up of continually hearing the second word in ‘losing streak’. For Harkleroad has never won a WTA tournament. Her highest ranking is 39th, which she achieved back in 2003, while she is currently languishing at 61st.

Her real reason was that she found herself twiddling her thumbs while recovering from surgery to remove a cyst from her ovaries. Then came the offer.

While tennis reporters were thinking of changing from Sports Illustrated to Playboy, she said: “I thought, well, I’m not really doing anything right now so I thought about it and it was something that I did. I’m proud of my body. I was representing a female athlete’s body.

“It was hard work, but, you know, it was just a completely different experience. It was fun. I think it comes out July 13th. It’s the August edition. So you’ll see for yourself.”

Her winning opponent, Serena, praised Harkleroad’s off-court activities. “I’m just surprised that she beat me to it.”

When quizzed whether one half of the Williams brand might make centrefold one day, she said: “I do appreciate that mag. I think (Playboy owner) Hugh Hefner is a great businessman.”

 

One Response

  1. That’s great how Ashley Harkleroad is proud of who she is, & will be in Playboy! You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

