CDR…Mr. Lee…A French Kid…The Hog…And My Slovenian

WDSU Top 5:

Coach Byron Scott told us today that his team will enter Thursday night’s NBA draft with a top 5 list.

This is how we at WDSU think the Hornets top five list could/should look.

And I promise I’ll stop obsessing over the upcoming NBA draft and the Hornets pick (#27)….after I write this blog!

1. SG Chris Douglas-Roberts: University of Memphis

2. SG Courtney Lee: Western Kentucky University

3. SF Nicolas Batum: France

4. SG Sonny Weems: University of Arkansas

5. SG/PG Goran Dragic: Slovenia

 

It’s my belief that both Chris Douglas-Roberts from the University of Memphis & Courtney Lee from Western Kentucky University will have already been picked when the #27 spot comes up.

So, who would the Hornets look at if both guys they covet most are off the board?

I’ve got a bad feeling that if CDR and Lee are gone the team will reach for Arkansas shooting guard Sonny Weems. Weems is a projected late second round selection.

Weems has worked out twice for the Hornets coaches.  I think Weems would be a terrible reach.

If I were Hornets general manager and both CDR and Lee were off the board I’d hope that French swingman Nicolas Batum was still available.

Batum may slip to the Hornets because recent medical reports say he has some type of heart condition.  Batum and his agent deny any medical problems and say they’ll provide each team all the medical information they desire.

Batum is beig compared to Vince Carter and could be a steal at #27.

(Nicolas Batum Video)

If Batum is also gone at #27 (reportedly the Spurs love him and San Antonio holds the #26 pick) then I’d go with the guy I’ve been calling for for months.

Slovenian combo guard Goran Dragic. I’ve burned out my computer watching youtube clips of the guy and I believe there is just something about him….he’s scrappy, determined….that makes me believe he’ll produce in the NBA. 

Dragic is being compared to Sasha Vujacic from the Lakers. If you scroll down you can see and read more about Dragic.    

   

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

