Just My Opinion

JENKINS TO START???

Maybe I’m crazy and I’ll take the heat for this thought if it’s not true…but…I can’t stop thinking about Malcolm Jenkins and how he’s going to fit in with the Saints this season.

In my opinion…I believe it’s possible that Jenkins plays a lot at safety with Darren Sharper.  I can’t stop envisioning a defensive secondary of Sharper, Jenkins, Porter and Greer.

Roman Harper did not look good in pass coverage against Cincinnati and it would not surprise me one bit to see Jenkins take snaps from him.  Jenkins could also play corner in nickel packages. 

Maybe I’m crazy but getting your best guys on the field is what Gregg Williams preaches and in my opinion the best four DB’s are: Sharper, Jenkins, Porter and Greer. 

HARGROVE & MCCRAY

Bobby McCray and Anthony Hargrove continue to shine and will be the starters when Charles Grant and Will Smith serve their suspensions the first four games on the regular season.

 In my opinion I really believe that Smith and Grant are going to have a tough time getting their jobs back.  Hargrove is the talk of camp…Gregg Williams raves about him.  McCray has also looked good in practice bringing pressure.

HARTLEY…NOT CARNEY

Just like all fans, I’m excited about the return of John Carney.  But realize Garrett Hartley is the future.  He’s a great young kicker with a bright future in the league.  When Hartley returns in week 4 the Saints will either keep both kickers (using Hartley for kick-offs and deep FG’s and Carney for PAT’s and chips shots)….or they’ll cut Carney.  I bet they keep both guys.

DEUCE UPDATE

Sure, Deuce can’t hook on with a team right now…but wait until week 5 of the NFL season when his suspension ends.

I bet Deuce has several teams looking to improve their short yardage situation or a team that needs a proven guy to fill-in for an injured player. 

Look at the Saints last season…they signed Mike Bell because of injuries and short yardage problems.

Deuce will play in the NFL in 2009…and he’ll play for a good team….he just won’t suit up until late October or early November.

ROLL WAVE

My buddy tells me I’ve been getting beaten-up on Tulane message boards for my analysis of the team and for the prediction that the Wave will finish the 2009 regular season with a 3-9 overall record.

As I’ve said before….I’m a big Tulane fan and want Tulane to do well. 

I’m just under the belief that coach Bob Toledo is not going to get it done offensively.  Trying to play in a pro style offense that controls the clock has never and will never work for Tulane.

Look at all the mid-major teams that have crashed the BCS.  Utah, Hawaii, Boise St…..all run wide open offenses that are based on speed and scoring fast.  Those programs realize that they do not have the guys in the trenches to go toe-to-toe with schools from major conferecnes.

Tulane’s best season ever…1998….12-0…..wide open offesne.

Back in the mid-90’s Buddy Teevens did a great job recruiting but his system was wrong.

With Teevens players Tommy Bowden went 7-4 and 12-0.  The system then assistant Rich Rodriguez  put in place worked and helped Tulane.

Also, Tulane fans laughed at me three years ago when I suggested the school consider hiring Frank Wilson as the head coach.  Just a heads up….I’ll be laughing at you when Wilson is too highly regarded to come to a C-USA school.

Wilson is responsible for recruiting both players Ole Miss had drafted in the 1st round of the NFL draft last April.  He’s responsible for recruiting the top two studs at USM…both of whom are expected to have huge seasons in ’09.  Wilson is now at Tennessee and is already pulling top kids out of Louisiana and bringing them to Knoxville.

Frank Wilson would have been a great hire for Tulane…..let’s just hope that next time the school has to hire a coach he’s still available. 

HORNETS

I love Hornets coach Byron Scott and I hope he pushes the right buttons this season to get the most out of his team. 

I also hope Scott takes a leap of faith and drifts away from his ‘I-love-veteran-players mentality’.  

I’d love to see Scott start Julian Wright and Marcus Thornton.

CP3, Thornton, JuJu, DWest and Emeka sounds like a good starting 5 to me.  Peja, Posey, Collison and Ike are top guys off the bench. 

I know Scott looks at Thornton as a defensive liability but defense wasn’t the Hornets problem during the regular season last year….the team couldn’t score…and Thornton is a scorer.

Also, the Hornets still need another big man…Ike Diogu and Hilton Armstrong aren’t exactly making me feel comfortable right now.  Both former lottery picks who have not produced.   

ETC.

Who else is excited about Quentin Tarantino’s ‘Inglourious Basterds’ opening Friday?

Kill Bill, Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs and True Romance (written by Tarantino and directed by Tony Scott)  all amazing, timeless movies that are completely original. 

And finally, let’s hope Hubert Keller wins Top Chef Masters tonight.  In my opinion he’s  the best chef left standing.  The shows airs on Bravo…check it out.

4 Responses

  1. if carney kicks good 1st 4 wks.will Garrett Hartley go on the PS.AN IThought grant an harper were having good training camp?i agree hargrove looks beast on the feild…

  2. i practically agree with on most things.

    I think jenkins will start. Hartley has his work cut out. If carney kicks well (which i think he will) and hartley has one bad game…they may be calling carney up for the season.

    As a tulane student I want to see toledo go. The players aren’t buying into the system and we will probably have another bad season. I am still surprised they picked scelfo over rich rodriguez.

    I think the hornets could one more player to them over the hump. I still believe they need to deal peja, mopete and daniels. Right now they’re the the 3rd best team in the southwest division (behind San Antonio and Dallas).

  3. Jenkins will likely start at NB. Porter is 1 start and we assume that Greer is the 2nd. Eventually Jenkins through all the INTs he is going to get by teams picking on the rookie, he will be moved to starting CB.

    The one thing that really concerns me with the Saints is the running game. What they had with Deuce was a consistent 4 yards a pop. Then in the 2nd half is when he would start gashing for yards. Pierre is more of a no gain, no gain, 2 yards, 12 yards, 3 yards, 1 yard, 10 yards kinda back. He is not consistent enough to sustain drivers…he is more of a slasher.

    Next year I think we go out and draft Charles Scott from LSU. He provides that Deuce like mentality where by the 4th quarter defenses are going, “Please don’t hit me anymore.”

  4. That would be great if Jenkins started!

    I hope that the Saints will keep John Carney.

Leave a Reply

